Patients invited to nominate their healthcare heroes in General Practice Stars of 2018 awards

Text size:
NHS Sandwell and West Birmingham Clinical Commissioning Group has launched its General Practice Stars of 2018 awards. These awards, being run for the second time this year, aim to showcase and celebrate the hard work and staff commitment that goes into delivering excellent patient care in general practice.
Patients and members of the public who are registered with a GP practice in Sandwell or West Birmingham are invited to be involved with the process by nominating for the following awards:

• GP of the Year Award

• Practice Nurse of the Year Award

• Patient Champion Award

Last year, the GP of the Year award was presented to Dr. James Gwilt of Carters Green Medical Centre in West Bromwich. In their nomination, one of Dr Gwilt’s patients said: "Every time I see Dr Gwilt I know I am receiving the best possible care I could. I have a long term health condition and Dr Gwilt has been very supportive in ensuring I got the best treatment and in supporting me to come to terms with living with it. When I found out about new treatment options, he was prepared to try these - I feel highly involved when decisions are made about my care."

Practice Nurse of the Year was Daniele Welborn from Linkway Medical Centre in West Bromwich. One of Daniele’s patients who nominated her said "Daniele is hard-working, extremely caring and puts her all into nursing. She makes me feel extremely comfortable and at ease with her empathy and her knowledge."

Dr Nick Harding, a local GP and Chair of NHS Sandwell and West Birmingham Clinical Commissioning Group said: "I would encourage any patient who thinks their GP, nurse or patient champion deserves a special thank you, to nominate them for one of these prestigious awards. It is an amazing way to show how much you appreciate them by nominating them for one of our awards."

Nominations for the ‘GP of the Year’, ‘Nurse of the Year’ and ‘Patient Champion’ awards are now open and close on Friday 4 May. The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 12 July 2018.

You can cast your vote by clicking here.